6-26-07

WHEREAS, the City of Alexandria government is committed to its values of respect, responsibility, teamwork, communication, diversity and leadership and has instituted a City Stars! Award to honor individual employees or groups of employees who exemplify the city's values; and

WHEREAS, the City of Alexandria government wishes to honor those employees who maintain order and the normal operation of government in the middle of an unexpected and overwhelming crisis; and

WHEREAS, the Alexandria Sheriff's Office takes great pride in maintaining the safety and security of City residents and visitors by, among other things, preserving the integrity of the court system through ensuring the security and safety of the courthouse and its users; and

WHEREAS, the city wishes to recognize Captain David Rocco, Lieutenant John Kapetanis, Sergeant Janice Parker-O'Hara, Sergeant Dorothy Pope, and twenty other staff who performed as a team and with complete dedication, on October 4, 2006, when the City of Alexandria Courthouse lost electrical power for an extended period of time; and

WHEREAS, due to the loss of power a highly-publicized jury trial for murder had to be relocated and conducted in a building unfamiliar to the staff and ill-equipped to maintain the safety and security of all involved; nonetheless, the trial continued without interruption and in a safe and controlled manner while a portion of the Judicial Services staff stayed at the courthouse assisting with the repairs and conducting normal court business; and

WHEREAS, your leadership, professionalism and commitment amidst all this turmoil allowed for a high-profile murder trial to continue in a secure and efficient manner in a building ill-prepared for such an event, while conducting important business in the City's courthouse as repairs were being made;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, WILLIAM D. EUILLE, Mayor of the City of Alexandria, and on behalf of the Alexandria City Council, do hereby proclaim that a City Stars! Award is bestowed on:

## "ALEXANDRIA SHERIFF'S OFFICE JUDICIAL SERVICES STAFF"

Captain David Rocco, Deputy Anthony Calhoun, Deputy Carmen Massop, Lieutenant John Kapetanis, Deputy Raymond Duff, Deputy Derrick Ramsey, Sergeant Janice Parker, Deputy William Durham, Deputy Lisa Speed, Sergeant Dorothy Pope, Deputy Audrey Eskridge, Deputy Freddie Tharp, Deputy William Anderson, Deputy George Gray, Deputy Walter Travers, Deputy Sabrina Arnold, Deputy Craig Hawkins, Deputy John Triplett, Deputy Kevin Brown, Deputy Jeffery Hunter, Deputy Deborah B. Vaughan, Deputy Charles Beeghly, Deputy Michelle Logan, Ms. Veronda Frazier.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Seal of the City of Alexandria to be affixed this 26<sup>th</sup> day of June 2007.

WILLIAM D. EUILLE MAYOR

On behalf of the City Council
of Alexandria, Virginia

ATTEST: